Skip to content

Travels of a Trucker Trucking Jobs and Trailers

December 8, 2011

Trucking is a business where we learn as we go and by the seat of our pants sometimes. I remember the first time I stepped into a truck with a set of Super’s attached and I had to drive a road test with another driver and I did 1 backup with him. He told the boss I was set to go and my first trip was to Ontario. No knowledge, no practice. Just load and go. Whatever learning I needed in how to back up a 3 vehicle combination came from the road. But this isn’t the only set of trailers I have ever hauled. I have done a host of different trailer types and each one has it’s own challenges and difficulties. For example I have used Double Drop Expando Lowbeds for wide load and over height deliveries. I have used Chassis trailers for Containers. I have had Tri Axle and Tandem axle trailers. I have used both Dry van and Reefers with cold loads. I have used Super B’s and A Trains. I have used Dolly converters with trains and I have used Dolly converters in Alberta with Long Combinations also known as LCV’s. I’ve had the pleasure of using Step decks and China tops (Curtain sides) Whichever trailer I’ve used it has always been a learn as you go. For example running a B train trailer with a sliding rail to cover or uncover the fifth wheel plate so that the lead trailer can be placed in a door. Learning all the air hose locations for expanding trailers and other little goodies.

In some of my most recent jobs I have had the pleasure as I view it to run Lowbeds, Super B’s and A Train’s. Now I love these types of vehicles. Long and mean looking or wide and scary! It feels good and I feel proud to be operating something like this on the road and pulling up with a load that is 16′ wide or that is 86′ long feels great. I always have the proper permits in place and I am always vigilant when I drive these loads on the highways. Below are some of the pictures of the trucks I have driven along some of the various trailers I have hauled.

This is a Super B combination with a 5th wheel plate at the rear of the tri axle. Total Gross Weight is 132,000lbs. This is a Bulk powder trailer used to haul Limestone/Cement Powder

This a B Train combination with a sliding 5th wheel plate on the set of tandems. When hauling the 5th wheel plate moves out to carry another trailer or moves in when docking at a loading bay after the pup trailer is detached.

This is a Tandem Dry Van combination Gross weight 39,500kg

This is a Tandem Flat Bed combination Gross Weight 39,500kg

This is a Tridem Dry Van Combination with a Gross weight of 46,500Kg

This is a Tridem Step Deck Combination Gross Weight 46,500kg

This is a Double Drop Expando LowBed combination Gross Weight 46,500kg

This is a 48ft Expando Flatdeck which has been slid to 53′.

This is a Super B Flatdeck Gross Weight 63,500kg

This is a 53′ Triaxle Expando Step deck Gross weight 46,500kg (you can see it has been expanded near the rear to almost 60 feet.

As you can see, trailers come in a variety of shapes and sizes. Not all are the same and each trailer needs to be learned properly. Each trailer turns or operates in a different manner. Some trailers have the airlines under the decks. Some trailers have a special air gauge at the front. Whichever the case may be, we need as drivers to learn how to operate them before we arrive at the customers place of pickup. There is nothing more embarrassing than trying to figure it out when the customer is waiting to load us or the trailer is stuck at the pins and won’t release. Anyways, as always, drive safe and keep em sunny side up. Be sure to follow me with email and through Google connect for my latest blog posts or join me here on Facebook

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Travels-of-a-Trucker/256861804368734?sk=wall

Trucker

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

