Skip to content

Travels of a Trucker I Remember!!

January 12, 2012

When I was but a young lad growing up in the 70’s, I remember my father being a trucker too. In fact he drove (at least in my young mind) one of the coolest trucks around! I remember my dad drove for Laidlaw based out of Ontario and he would bring that big shiny Blue and Red Laidlaw truck back to our farm. i couldn’t wait for him to come home and I was always excited when he did. Imagine having a huge truck in your yard when your a young boy. A real live truck!! I was so awe inspired. I loved hearing the sound of the truck as it went by pushing all that wind, I loved riding in the truck with him and I remember we would go on trips down to the U.S. to Detroit, Michigan crossing at the border. It was fun times back then. Sadly of course, I missed him when he was gone as he would be gone for 2 weeks at a time and I wouldn’t see him around the farm. It would be just me and my stepmother and I can tell you she was not fun to live with. (Maybe that’s why my dad divorced her)

So anyways, it got me to thinking about what I remembered as a young lad and I still remember all the truck toys and cars and train sets my dad would buy me and so often I see myself in my son. He loves riding in my truck. He has been with me on trips to Edmonton and to Calgary and to Prince George. He loves just riding shotgun and the smile on his face is priceless when I know he enjoys it. Even though he isn’t the best of company as he loves to sleep on our journeys and often times I am a little jealous of him that he can just fall asleep in that passenger side so conveniently when I have to work!! But the magic moments we share as a father and son are so greatly rewarded and cherished when we have the time together like this. I know he is so proud because when I stop for fuel…off he goes like a jackrabbit looking for the windshield washer and squeegee. He will literally clean off all the lights including the stop lamps and the turn signals. On more than one occasion, many a driver has been jealous of my little helper who they all get a smile out of.

So today as I was driving along, I had this scene play out right in front of me and sure I have heard of it being done, but this was one of the few times I have actually seen it and boy did it put a smile on my face. Hopefully when you see the picture it will put a smile on yours also as we all remember how we were fascinated by those big trucks when we were small lads.

Do you see what I see in this picture?

So if you were wondering what I was up to. Yesterday and today, i was delivering to Superstore! One of my favorite stores of course. 🙂

The store receiving hours are a lie…lol I delivered at 1:15pm this afternoon! 🙂

 

This was the second store I went to today so I had 19 pallets of goodies for them.

well dear readers, so the question comes. What is it that you remember that makes your work or adventure so exciting. Do you reminisce about the past? About your childhood? Is there something that you do now that you loved as a child? Do your children wish they could follow in your footsteps? Please by all means share them with me.

Thanks for reading Travels of a trucker. if you like my short posts, please follow along with me by email. Or you can follow me on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/#!/truckerofbc alternatively I have a Facebook page which you can also follow me on: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Travels-of-a-Trucker/256861804368734

If you are a sponsor and would like your products tested or tried in real life, please by all means send me an email @ rogerdsims2002@yahoo.ca

Keep em sunny side up and drive safe my friends. Please share the word of my blog. If I reach that 100 follower mark on Facebook I may just have another contest!

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

