Skip to content

Travels of a Trucker Those Little Phone Number Signs

January 26, 2012

You have probably seen them before. Those little signs on the back of the trailer that say…if this vehicle is being driven…please call…

 

How many of you have actually taken the time to call and praise a driver for his/her courteous actions? His/her actions of allowing you to merge. His/her actions of not tail-gating. His/her actions of using his turn signals. His/her actions of not speeding and obeying the posted speed limits. I am sure not very many here have taken the time to call and praise a driver to the listed phone number. Now on the other hand how many have taken the time to give the trucker the one finger salute? How many have taken the time to honk their horn or get mad at a trucker? How many have gotten pissed that the truck is going the posted speed limit and holding you up? I am sure there were a lot more yeses to these questions than the previous. Why is it? Why is it psychologically okay to be mad but not be courteous, patient and take the time to thank the driver?

You see, I saw a little sign today on the back of a truck. It read, “Canada Stops if Trucks Stop. Please be Patient“. The following statement is so true. It is funny because people will take the time to vent, get mad, create road rage, cut a trucker off, but they won;t take the time to praise a driver for his good driving habits. Many a time, after being diligent and driving carefully, I wish someone would call my dispatch and praise me. Well, to be honest it has happened and I have the Black and White letter to prove it. Now how many of you my readers have done the same and taken the time to praise a driver? Yes, I keep harping this issue. You see drivers are human too. We get frustrated, we are criticized if we are running late. We are criticized if we do something wrong, but no one remembers the good we did. It is nice to be praised once in a while as we all know it makes us feel good inside!

So the moral of today’s little post is about being courteous. It is about paying the respect back to the drivers who are the wheels of this economy. As the saying goes, if you got it, a truck brought it and the saying is so true. No matter what you see around you more than likely a truck has brought it. From the clothes you wear to the food you eat and even the house you are living in..a truck has brought all of it! So next time you are on the road and you see a driver being courteous, please show a little appreciation and make that call!

As always, dear readers, thanks for reading and I truly appreciate all my readers. If you like my blog, be sure to sign up by email. You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook.  https://twitter.com/#!/truckerofbc   http://www.facebook.com/truckerofbc

If you are a sponsor, send me some fan goodies and I’ll be sure to promote them if I like them and give them away to my readers. I am always looking for things that are aimed at truck drivers. Send me an email to rogerdsims2002@yahoo.ca

Thanks for reading!

Trucker

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Really good post, Roger. I’ll be on the lookout now more for the courteous behavior, because there are a lot of good guys out there too! Thanks for reminding me and everyone else to thank our local truckers today. Without you, we wouldn’t have the economy we do. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

