Skip to content

Travels of a Trucker The Job Smorgasbord

May 24, 2012

You know the one thing that has always fascinated me is the amount of jobs driving available at any one time. I may or may not be working but it seems that there is always a great job to apply for. Then when you apply for the job and get on board with them there is a saying that seems to pop up and that saying is the “The Grass is always Greener on the other side of the fence and then when you get over there it is full of shit”.

But seriously, I am always amazed at how many jobs are out there. Everyday I see at least 100 postings on the Craigslist board and I know realistically I could seize at least one or two of these jobs with little difficulty but the problem comes back to two things. Pay or being away from home for lengthy extended periods of time. Now I am not a young guy who can gallivant across the country at free will anymore. I have a wife who becomes bitchy when I am not home at least 7 nights a week. Then if the pay is too low I have a wife who bitches I don’t give the family enough and if I give her too much I have creditors who will become bitchy if I miss any credit payment.

So it’s a catch 33. If I sit home too long without work everyone becomes bitchy. So what does one do during this time? Of course I have thought about my options. There is of course declaring bankruptcy. I could always just say fuck it and give up that which I have worked so long and hard for. The benefit of course is not worrying anymore about creditors but the downside 7 years is a long time to wait without credit. Then I have thought about talking to my bank and saying look i’m at the end of my rope here and need your help. Consolidate all my loans, RRSP loans and Truck Loan and Line of credit and credit cards into one monthly payment. Then of course there is just the sheer goddamn lets push through this attitude and hope for the best. Whichever course I take money and a job are a huge factor. Which brings me back to my line of thinking. There are so many jobs and to be honest most of them are paying peanuts or they are some hole in the wall company that you can’t trust them.

As a matter of fact, I just got an email back from a company whom I emailed my resume. I will post it for you all to read and the response and you will see exactly what I mean about hole in the wall and not being too trusting. Let’s be honest, when looking for a decent company how many interviews do you know that occur at the Tim Hortons’? You will see what I mean below. I had to move the sentences shorter as I noticed they appear to cut off when the post is published so I hit the reply button moved the sentences and saved them to a paint file.

In the first email I am quite clear about what I am asking.

He responds with a wishy washy explanation and right away I can see that this is a small company.

So I don’t deny any employer based on their size but I am still interested in hearing what they have and what they offer.

Well this pretty much says it all when a company doesn’t want to bring you in for an interview at an office you can be assured of a few things. You will never be paid overtime. You will be in trouble if the truck breaks down somewhere else since they are probably using personal credit cards. The bottom line is this is what is out there right now. A lot of these types of companies. Well the good news by the way is that I do have employment lined up for the 5th with another company which is not set in stone yet. If I don’t find something else then I have something else to fall back on but let the search continue and see what comes up.

Thanks for reading.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

