Skip to content

Travels of a Trucker Trucking and Stress

August 9, 2012

Stress. As people we all have it. As people we all get it. What sets everyone apart is how we deal with it. Sometimes people can get mad. Sometimes people become depressed. Sometimes people cry. Sometimes people will just isolate themselves. This is what makes stress unique is that there is no “classic” symptom that researchers can point to saying this is the cure. Of course one benefit does remain and that is removing the stressor or removing yourself from the stressful situation.

In my case when I have severe stress, I have a tendency to break out in rashes and diseases from a dormant virus in my body which is also responsible for chickenpox. For example one time I was stressed out so much that I got Shingles. The next episode of major stress in my life produced Bell’s Palsy. Interesting correlation and pattern for me. So I really try to avoid stress in my life since I know that I will suffer a physical pain and not just an emotional one.

You see as truckers we often become stressed and we don’t even realize it. Our blood pressure may go through the roof as we sit there. Dealing with traffic, Ice, Rain, Snow, Hail, Sleet, Lack of Sleep, Bitchy Shippers, Cranky Receivers, Grumpy Dispatchers, Whining Customers, Road congestion, Construction, Slow Traffic, Log Book Hours of Service and nagging Wives or Spouses. It all adds up and it adds up real quick when expounded hour upon hour. I say this knowing that what I say about hour upon hour is true. While those in 9-5 type jobs can simply go home, take a day off or go away from the stress, truckers on the other hand have to keep on going through to the next set of hurdles. There is no going home. There is no taking a day off when you have a load on the way. Instead we simply try to put the thought of it behind us as we move on to the next obstacle in our challenge.

So what do you do when you are stressed? Do you have a quick fix? Do you have a cure to take away your blues? Is your stress caused by something or someone? Do you suffer any physical symptoms or is it all mental? I would love to hear your answers as to these questions. Please feel free to share with me your thoughts and feelings on stress.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

