Skip to content

Travels of a Trucker Sunny Days

August 12, 2012

How beautiful the weather has been. I am not one to complain about it except that it puts me into lazy mode. Just so hot out there that as soon as I lift a finger I would break out into a sweat. Meanwhile others around me who were not born in this country but in a country of this weather can as the airplane ad I remember in my brain “are free to move about the country”. They can go out there and chop wood, they can work and not break out into a sweat and meanwhile if I did the same work I would have sweated out of 3 shirts. But again, I am not the type to complain. I love this weather. It makes driving and travel easy. It is a stress reliever not having to deal with ice and snow.

I actually can’t believe that it has been almost a month since I have seen a decent rain  except for the odd sprinkle caused by an impending thunderstorm. Of course this is BC so our thunderstorms don’t really bring any torrential rain like they would to our Ontario counterparts who are use to these types of Summers. Hot Days with Thundershowers which then produce more humid weather pushing the heat well over 40 degree weather. Believe me being in a truck in over 40 degree weather with no air conditioning is no fun. I went through this and the air from a hot engine was cooler than the outside air.

But through it all, again, I am not complaining. It would be nice to get motivated as I do have lots to do. I have bricks that need to be laid as a walkway. I have a chord of wood that needs to be stacked. I have a lawn that needs to be cut and a humongous tree that needs a good carving to reduce it’s size. It will of course eventually be done but it kinda sucks to allow it all to stack up when it is too hot to do the work and lord knows I would not be doing it when the actual Vancouver Fall and Winter rains start and don’t stop for 8 months of the year.

When these rains start I could literally travel the whole world and come back and it would still be raining. I could go to sleep in the rain, wake up and it would still be raining. Go on a trip to Alberta in the rain and come back and it will still be raining. Certainly is not nice to be working in this weather also, but again. I won’t complain about our current weather. As a matter of fact, shortly after I write this I will be heading off to church then down to the Fraser River to throw a line in for Salmon. I’ll let you know how it goes after all, I am not going to complain. Oh yeah then of course it will be Olympic watching with all my PVR’d Olympics.

Thanks for reading.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

