Skip to content

Remembering Our Roots

February 10, 2013

As people it is one of our nature as people to remember things. We remember our phone numbers. We remember our address. We remember our Social Insurance and Social Security numbers. We remember birthdays and anniversaries. We remember the dates our children were born. We remember our family members’ phone numbers. We remember a whole lot of things as we go through life. We probably even remember our first time doing a road test wherever it was you did your road test.

For some people the need to remember precludes keeping certain events captured in our memories by saving paper records. For me as an example, I still have the road test portion from ICBC when I did my road test. I still have the driving school notes on how I should improve. I still have the original booklets from ICBC on what I should study for the road test and for the computer learners course. I still have my Air brake booklet from my 2 day course. I may never throw these things away as they are a part of who I am and I can pass these things down to my children so they can remember that their dad was a trucker. It would suck if someone ever asked them what did your dad do and they didn’t remember. This way they can say my dad was a trucker. They can see how well I did getting only 1 demerit on my pretrip and getting only 2 demerits on my road test for failing to go the proper road speed  I was doing 30 in a 50 when I had passed a sign saying 30km/hr max and it didn’t tell me where I could resume my proper speed and I made a comment to the road test instructor about it.

But the point of this is that we should remember these things. Remembering how to do a proper pretrip is only one such thing that we should remember. Imagine trying to teach a newer generation how to do a proper pretrip when you can’t even remember how to do it yourself. This is why it is more important now to remember these things. There are a lot of drivers out there but a lot of them have no clue how to do things properly.

A good example is how to chain up or how to tarp properly. While both tasks seem simple, there is a complexity involved in doing it properly. While tarping may look simple, laying the tarp out may be the easiest part. Even then there is a specific way the tarp has to be laid out. Otherwise the tarp will catch the wind and blow off or become useless flapping away inviting a ticket or a notice and order from the scale. Then the tarp has to be laid out even on both sides so that the bungee cords will be effective in holding the tarp on properly. There is nothing worse than watching your mirrors only to see your tarp flapping in the wind or the bungee cords getting snapped off from the pressure of that is exerted from the wind as your driving down the highway. Again, it is all in experience.

Another one in which drivers who are unskilled is chaining up. A driver who is experienced can have a set of chains on within minutes if they are motivated. A set of singles as an example should take no longer than a couple of minutes per side to put on if one knows what they are doing. Again there are some set of basic procedures which must be followed to make them effective or a driver who doesn’t have experience will find that they will be shredded off or fly off their duals in a matter of a few minutes. Perhaps the chains will even get tangled up causing damage to the tractor if they are not done properly. A set of chains flapping in a set of drives is just a recipe for disaster as they whiplash the frame and fender. Ensuring the chains are snug, learning how to do the inside up quickly to get out of the danger zone are just a couple of things that an experienced driver will remember how to do.

This is but one of many things that experienced drivers can remember and pass down to newer drivers. Of course there is a lot more things to teach others out there…driving on black ice, through freezing rain, going around corners, etc. While they all may look and sound easy, there are mechanics involved with each of them.

So just a reminder, when your out on the road and you see someone who is needing help, it only takes a minute or two to suggest to someone who may be doing something wrong on what they can do to make something better.

Trucker.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. belpre permalink

    Is it possible for you to ask Dewy Sherwood a question for me? belpre122 and twinscrew would like to know if he will be returning to the History channel message board anytime soon as pigpen.
    We miss him! Thanks, and I enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

